ldodge429 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

New kid on the block

Hi all --
    I am relatively new to ACCESS and have taking the challenge of building a DB for work. It is somewhat complex so I hope to learn ALOT on this forum.

The first thing I need to be able to do is time stamp records as they are created and then later edited (some have 10+ edits) while others are entered and not edited. The latest entry should be the one that appears on the query.
    As an example --
    Every sample is given a number 1 - 100 per day (the counter is started over at midnight) so I need to time stamp the sample number so we know when the sample was started (generally, unless there was a mistake, this record will not be edited). We will conduct various tests on the sample i.e. pH which will drop during time, but we still need to record each test result with time taken (this is one that will be edited 10+ times) for later review. I don't have anything built yet so this is a blank slate -- any thoughts will be GREATLY appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
    Lawrence

June7 is offline VIP
    Each test result should be a new record. The date/time a record is initiated can be automatically saved into record. Saving a date/time when sample testing is completed will require data entry (typing) or code behind a command button.

However, before even thinking about GUI, should get data structure set up. Perhaps this will help http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Z1nkstar is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013