Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    tc197 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003

New to Access - real basic help needed

Hey guys I'm new to access and was given a project at work to design a form to record and save information. My end goal is to have a form that can be filled out by a worker and have all of the information recorded in tables that can then be accessed later on and searched through. Sorry that these questions are going to sound horrible - I just started using access yesterday and have no luck searching the internet for solutions to get me further than this.

Problem 1:

I can't seem to get my tables to update based off of the primary table. I have a UNIT# field that is my primary key in my main table. I want to type a number in here and have it copy into all of my other tables under the field UNIT# in the other tables. Each Unit has a bunch of different data recordings so I made a table for each type of recording. I created a relationship between the tables using my main table and UNIT# as the primary key, created a query and used the [tablename].[fieldname] expression to define the "update to" field and I'm not getting anything.

This is as far I've gotten but some things I would like to do later on and maybe someone knows of a good place to find this information is

1. Having a timestamp

2. Having list boxes/text boxes autofill with maybe a check box to turn this on and off on an individual entry basis.

Thanks for any help, I appreciate it.

I actually solved my date problem and now that works great, still very stuck on the using 1 table to update about 6 other tables though. Thank you

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Your form is based on a query? Can you open the query in DataSheet view and edit/append data?