speciman_A is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Display Abbreviation on Report instead of Field Values

Good day,

Forgive me if this has been asked before, but I haven't found it and I am relatively new to Access.

I am building a database with the intent to automate report generation for weekly meetings with my boss. Hopefully, when all is said and done, I will have a presentable report that automatically pulls information from subordinate shops through a front end I will email out. The problem I am having is I have a multi-value combo box with full length text on a form, but only want to display abbreviations on the actual report due to space considerations. For example, I would convert flux capacitor to a three digit code such as FLU. The form would say Flux Capacitor so that the end users don't have to look at a legend to figure it out, but the report would read FLU. Compounding the issue, as I mentioned previously, the field is a multi-value field, which means there may be multiple items listed on the report for one record.

Hopefully my description is clear, I look forward to any input the gurus out there may provide.

V/R

J.C.

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    In the report query, have the qry pull the abbrevs.
    put them on the rpt. (and dont use multi-value combos)

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    You are saving the full length value and not the abbreviated version into multi-value field?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

I have the full length value in a separate table so that the values can be easily changed later on. I used a basic query to pull the values for the combo box. The abbreviations are on the same table, but I'm not sure how to run a query for the report so that the input in the combo box is converted to abbreviations.