Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    DB88 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

recursion in Access?

Hello,

I'm new to Access and need to implement a recursion calculation. Is that possible using relationships and/or query? I've been trying to figure out a method for over a day. Inventory in year i = new arrivals in year i + (inventory from year i-1)*(attrition rate).

I wrote a query that can calculate the inventory of a given year that I specify in a parameter. But I need the inventory for multiple years at once without having to manual fire the query 30 times.

I don't know visual basic and am trying to avoid the extra time needed to learn it. But i'm starting to think that may be the only way. Anyone have ideas or should I just give in and learn VB?

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    You would probly get a memory error (or fill the DB limit) of queries running subQueries.
    Recursion works in code, no need for it queries with recordsets.

I would really like to write a function in visual basic that performs the recursion I need. Then I could create an expression in a query using that function.
    But how do I write a function that can get values from multiple records?

I want to create a query that finds the inventory for every year (about 30 years). I've written the inventory calculation above. The terminal statement is when year = 0 then Inventory = new arrivals in year 0. So, if query is trying to find inventory in year 10, the function would need to step through records associated with year 0 - 10. Is that possible?
    Or should I just write a subroutine the loops through each year record in the table, and finds the associated inventory?

ranman256 is offline VIP
    I still dont see the need for the function...in a query the range would be:
    select * from tbl where [DateEvent]
    between [dateStart] and [dateEnd]

or
    between date() and dateAdd("yyyy",-30,date())