Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    gasmaskman is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Basic Questions about Using Formulas/Queries in Forms

I am creating a database that tracks a baseball team's statistics and was trying to create a form that would act as a team summary showing total statistics and the user would be able to click on a statistic and it would run a query showing the data behind the number. For example, one line would say "14 total team homeruns" and a user could click it and it would run a query showing the name of every player that has hit a homerun and the number that they have hit. I'm able to do the SQL behind the queries, but I have limited experience creating forms and am not sure how to create a label or command button that calculates the total number of homeruns, and I'm also hoping for any general advice that could make it a better experience for the user (for example, should I embed the queried table into the form or just run the query outside of the form?). Any help is greatly appreciated and thank you in advance.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    I am not sure what embedding a table to a form is. Forms use recordsets. Controls on forms may depend on the form's recordset/recordsource, or they may be unbound, or some can have their own RowSource.

Your question does not have a simple answer and then you add the problem of statistics. Before worrying about a form, get your tables in order with sample data. Once you have that, start creating SELECT queries to test JOINS of your various tables. View your data from query objects via Datasheet View. Then worry about custom queries to get statistical summaries. You can use VBA to create/supplement custom queries.