mrlddst is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Corruption of Access database when refresh is done in Excel

Good evening,

I'm at my wits end and need some help. I have been maintaining a Access 2000 database for a few years. I recently imported all of the objects into Access 2007. I was able to work through the majority of the issues like broken references and "not a valid bookmark" errors. However, I have been stuck for a few days on the same issue. I have a form that the users go hit a button to perform a series of queries that are appended to a 'make' table. The users have a Excel 2007 workbook setup that is linked using the "Database Query" connection type. When the user refreshes the Excel Workbook and returns to Access and try to close the form, they get "not a valid bookmark" error and the entire database proceeds into total corruption. I am at my wits end, I can't figure out what I am doing wrong. I have two other databases that will allow the refresh while connected to access with no issues. I can't put a primary key on a 'make table' and I don't know what else to do. Any ideas?

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Quote Originally Posted by mrlddst View Post
    ... I have two other databases that will allow the refresh while connected to access with no issues...
    So you are using Excel as a database and linking to Access from Excel? Database Query???? You are linking to a query in Access from Excel? What is the file extension of your Access 2007 data base? MDB or ACCDB?

Quote Originally Posted by ItsMe View Post
    So you are using Excel as a database and linking to Access from Excel? Database Query???? You are linking to a query in Access from Excel? What is the file extension of your Access 2007 data base? MDB or ACCDB?