crazyinjun is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

populate after creating many to many relationship

Hi. I am new to access and have been searching everywhere for some guidance on how to populate a junction table when trying to normalize the data and am looking for some guidance.

I have about 600,000 records in an excel sheet and tried using the table analyzer but I run out of memory. Instead i have broken up my giant table into a few other tables with their own primary keys and have populated from a maketable query. I related the tables together in a 1 to many and many to many table and one of the subforms is working great. The problem i am having now is with the many to many table (WorkedJunctionTbl). I don't want to have to manually input thousands of lines of data, so is there a way i can populate the data from the original data correctly using the new autonumber primary keys? I can't seem to get an append query to work correctly.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	12 
Size:	10.8 KB 
ID:	16177

thanks in advance!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    There has to be some unique identifier already in place that can be used to relate records. This record ID should have been in place on the spreadsheet before breaking up and included in both datasets.

Build a query that joins on this common record ID and pull in the OpID and WorkcenterID fields to insert into junction table.

Why doesn't Workcenters have other fields - like CenterName, CenterManager?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.