ajk825 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

is it possible to count bools separately for comparison?

Hello I'm new to access so please be gentle... I have an access database that stores recipes. 2 of my table are RECIPES and FEED_BK with the primary relationship being(RECIPE.RecipeID FEED_BK.RecipeID_FK)... in FEED_BK i have a column "IsDwnlded" which is a bool field using a checkbox. If a user chooses to download a recipe "IsDwnlded" is checked True, if not by default it is False. I need to create a query that would go thru my FEED_BK table, count how many times each one has been checked TRUE and return RECIPE.RecipeName...Is this possible?
    Sorry if this is confusing.

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    I know you said a query but you could get the result using the DCount() function. Something like:
    DCount("IsDwnlded","FEED_BK","IsDwnlded = True")
    and
    DCount("IsDwnlded","FEED_BK","IsDwnlded = False")
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    FEED_BK has multiple records associated with each recipe? If recipe is not 'downloaded' how else is it obtained by user?

Maybe build a query that joins the two tables (just to pull in the RecipeName field). Then switch to Totals query and group by the RecipeName with aggregate expression:

Sum(Abs([IsDownlded])) AS CountTrue
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

ajk825 is offline Novice
    They could simply look at it online...by downloading it they would be adding it to their own personal libraries at home, work, wherever...

ajk825 is offline Novice
    Hi Bob,