sansui88 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

table relationships and business rules - I'm stuck!

I am stuck on this problem. The solution may be very simple but I can not see it and I hope someone can help me. I am using MS Access.
    I am an elevator mechanic who does service, maintenance and repair work on elevators. I am trying to build a database to help me manage my route. I plan to grow the database over time, recording and managing more and more information.

I have a route ofabout 110 building, or contracts, consisting of about 185 elevator units. Every building has at least one elevator and every building must be associated with a building. So I have:

tblBuildings - ContractNumber PK , BuildingName, SalesPerson, address etc...

tblUnits - ContractNumber FK, UnitNumber PK, StateID, Contract Type, ElevType,etc...

Now, here comes the problem. There are different types of elevators and associated with them there are different kinds of things to keep track of. For example, I have a table called:

tblPressureTests - PressureTestID PK, UnitNumberFK, Test Date, lots of technical data...

This is where I keep record of pressure tests and the associated data. A pressure test is a test requires by the state every three years for hydraulic elevators. A hydraulic elevator is a type of elevator, ElevType. I have tblPressureTests related as a sub-table to tblUnits such that every elevator, whether it is a hydraulic elevator or not, potentially can have a record of a pressure test. There must be a better solution.

There are many attributes, I guess I would call them, of an elevator. Some are common to all but many are dependent on some other attribute of the elevator. Traction elevators, another 'Type' of elevators, never have pressure tests done, but they do have Five Year Full Load Safety Test done, which by the way involves a different set of information to be recorded.