Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    lantoni is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit

Concatenation

I have a similar issue to https://www.accessforums.net/access/...lved-8444.html; I need to combine six fields instead of two with Null fields involved. I'm a novice, using Access 2010. I've tried some variations based on this thread but evidently I'm missing something on the syntax.

My six fields are:
    [Residence in]
    [Fellowship in]
    [Special Skills in]
    [Experience in]
    [Contractual Arrangements]
    [Other Stipulations]

I'm definitely missing something, because when I run the query it keeps showing ";" between the fields when they are NULL.

This is what I've tried (please don't laugh):

Full_Stips: IIf([Residency in] Is Null,IIf([Fellowship in] Is Null,"",[Fellowship in]),IIf([Fellowship in] Is Null,[Residency in],[Residency in] & "; " & [Fellowship in])) & ";" & (IIf([Special Skills in] Is Null,IIf([Experience in] Is Null,"",[Experience in]),IIf([Experience in] Is Null,[Special Skills in],[Special Skills in] & "; " & [Experience in]))) & ";" & (IIf([Contractual Arrangements] Is Null,IIf([Other Stipulations] Is Null,"",[Other Stipulations]),IIf([Other Stipulations] Is Null,[Contractual Arrangements],[Contractual Arrangements] & "; " & [Other Stipulations])))

I really hope you can help me out.

Thanks,
    Leila

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Six fields makes for a very long and complicated expression. Don't think I would even try.

I suspect your data structure is not normalized.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

I need to display those in a report, all together, under a single label "Stipulations". How do you suggest I do that without ending up with "blank/empty" lines/spaces when one of the fields is NULL?

This is driving me nuts!!

June7 is online now VIP