willoughby is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Releationship XOver? (going from 1 to many to many to 1) Music dB

Hello problem solving friends, of course I’m a pre novice and need all the help I can get. I’ve been constructing a dB based partially on ms template TS001018629.db. I only have three tables all with one to many relationships. Artists -> Recordings -> Tracks.

I’ve reached a point now where I see I erred at the start of my construction. I’ve come to the original soundtrack section where there are more Recordings than Artists (Recordings -> Artists -> Tracks). I know my mistake was by adding all my soundtracks as Artists.

Is there a way of opening Original Soundtrack and then Recordings and next Artists and last Tracks? With almost 43 hundred entries there are artists before the “Neil Young” entry that already have ArtistID’s and artists yet to come with no ArtistID #’s.

Out of the 9 songs I have from the “Animal House” soundtrack I have 6 Artists, and from “John Tucker Must Die” I have 14 songs with 13 artists. Of course I have a few soundtracks with just one song and others with only a few. I’m at a loss on how to proceed structurally? Any advice, help, hints I would be indebted.

Thanks
    will
    Attached Files Attached Files

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    You can get much more detailed if you want.

Here's a sample http://www.cs.rpi.edu/~sibel/dbs/lec...ic_example.pdf
    Another http://www.databaseanswers.org/data_...tion/index.htm

A good tutorial on designing tables and relationships.

If you map out (pencil and paper) how the things fit together, and test it till you're happy, you could design a new database; then with some queries you could move from your current database to your new database.

willoughby is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

reply to orange