gpsram is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit

After delete trigger

Hi,

I am new to MS access.

I have to delete records from the 2 tables, when the parent record gets deleted. I have a delete button in my form wherein the user deletes the particular record from the parent table.

When the delete button is pressed, the parent record gets deleted from the table. But I need to write a after delete trigger on the parent table to be able to delete the relevant records from the other two child tables, based on the current parent id.

what code should I write ? and should I locate the records in the before delete trigger and then write the code to delete the child record in after delete trigger ?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
    gps

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    If you set relationships with Enforce Referential Integrity and Cascade Delete, Access will do the dirty work for you.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

gpsram is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    Thanks for the reply. But I would want to use a trigger because my assignnment requires me to use a trigger. It will be of great help if you could assist.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    I don't believe there is a CREATE TRIGGER available in Access SQL like there is in Transact SQL. If you need to do something at the table level then look into one of the three after events available to create a macro. You can find the After Update options when you open your table in data sheet view.