Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 63
  1. #16
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862

    Quote Originally Posted by katmomo5 View Post
    ...Multiuser is my issue...
    If you did not write VBA the issue may be with Macros and versions of Access the workstations are using. Macros are not know for being backwards compatible. Also, it is fine to have an accde as a front end file. The distinction for the front end file should be linking to a back end. The back end is where the tables are.

  2. #17
    katmomo5 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    47
    All workstations have Office 2010...

    Good to know about the accde being okay.

    When splitting the db, and it says the end user needs full access to the backend, does that mean allowing the end user "Full Control? and not just read and write permissions? I am looking at the folder security properties for the folder where the backend is located.

  3. #18
    katmomo5 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    47
    The Macro Single Step message tells me
    Macro Name:
    staffInterface : nsgrptfrm : OnClick : Embedded Macro
    Condition:
    (blank)
    Action Name:
    OpenForm
    Arguments:
    frm24hrNsg, Form, , , , Normal
    Error Number: 2950

  4. #19
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    Permissions will need to be adjusted to allow read and write. I believe that will be enough for most scenarios. You will have to test to see what the minimum is, unless someone else can chime in here. If you are using macros you will need to adjust the workstations to accept the server location as well as the FE file as a trusted location. You can do this via RegEdit, VBA to edit registry, or a full version of access has an interface to add trusted locations to the local machine.

  5. #20
    katmomo5 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    47
    To add/check trusted locations to the local machine, where would I go?

    All locations are trusted, I am told.

  6. #21
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    I explained three approaches to edit the registry.
    Here are some resources - Google trusted locations Access 2007
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...010341741.aspx

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WtGmgcTXYo

    http://www.access-programmers.co.uk/...d.php?t=228529


    Here is a DB I put together that will do the work for you. You could possibly incorporate this code into your app to automatically edit registry.
    https://www.accessforums.net/program...tml#post197578

  7. #22
    katmomo5 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    47
    Thanks, I will give it a try!

  8. #23
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    I don't know what that means. You need to make sure that the back end file is in a directory that all of the users have appropriate permissions to. You need to make sure each workstation has the correct Registry Keys and Registry values for the "Trusted Locations" thing. After that, if you are having troubles still, take the next step.

  9. #24
    katmomo5 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    47
    Sorry, I posted that before the page loaded with your response.

    The backend is in a directory that the users do have read/write permissions to.

    'You need to make sure each workstation has the correct Registry Keys and Registry values for the "Trusted Locations" thing.'
    - Sorry for my lack of knowledge on this. We have 300 workstations, but usually only about 40-50 users on at one time. I don't know how to check the registry for each workstation. Just a nurse thrown into a project that I didn't know what I was getting into. I will find out.

    Your help is really appreciated.

  10. #25
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    The user will be prompted to accept the risk of using the file if their registry is not adjusted/edited. If they click OK the FE file will open. I believe there could possibly be a problem if a macro tries to execute code that the original message did not address. In other words, a macro may try to execute something the original prompt did not consider or foresee.

    It may be more productive to table the Trusted Locations thing for now.

  11. #26
    katmomo5 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    47
    ok, tabling the trusted locations thing for now...

    Someone in the MS Community forum said:
    "you have to manually relink (using Linked Table Manager) when you open the dev FE, then link back before you generate the accde."

    When I made changes to the user interface before the redistribution of the accde, I didn't do anything with the Linked Table Manager.

    Do you think this would cause/contribute to my issue?

  12. #27
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    See post 8. However, if the issue is that Access can't find the backend because of bad pathing, I would expect a different error message than 'already in use'.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  13. #28
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    Not really making sense to me. It must have been taken out of context because the link manger is irrelevant after the accde is published. In other words, set and forget...

    The distinction is what June had already mentioned. Avoid using mapped drives if possible.

    When you are linking a table in the development file or using the link manager, it is advisable to navigate to the back end file going the long way around the block. Go through the entire network by selecting the domain and then drilling down to the server and to the folder, etc.

    This will create a path that is recognized as a the Universal Naming Convention (UNC) vs. using a mapped drive that will cerate a hurdle or two, at least. A linked table using UNC will work for any client that is logged into the same domain. (For the purists out there, I am trying to avoid getting too technical).

    Bottom line, if you go to your original FE file of the accdb extension type and look at the link manager, you do not want to see drive letters in the path. D:\DataFolder\Datafile.accdb would not be desirable. but.... \\ServerName\FolderName\FileName.accdb is desirable or something like.. \\192.168.1.110\FolderName\FileName.accdb

  14. #29
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    The UNC pathing can be set with VBA code.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  15. #30
    katmomo5 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    47
    How do I find the pathing? I know, I feel really stupid.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-20-2013, 09:37 AM
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-21-2012, 08:44 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-01-2012, 04:14 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 09:16 AM
  5. Multiple users in database at same time
    By toshea in forum Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 02:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums