MaestroC is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Displaying image from disk when path is stored as calculated field

I am very much a noob here so please talk slowly for me.

I have a database named Students. In it is a field named StudentID and another named StudentPhoto. StudentPhoto is a calculated field that pulls in the StudentID and inserts it into a local URL like this- "C:\Users\...\...\SCHOOL\Pictures\students28540.jp g" Specifically the calculated field has this expression in it:

"C:\Users\...\...\SCHOOL\Pictures\students" & [studentstudentNumber] & ".jpg"

I have all of the student photos in that same folder and the lookup field is working correctly, showing me the correct path to each image file.

My question is how the heck do I get their images to display in a report I have created? I have made a bound image on the report and attempted to connect it to the Students.StudentPhoto field but all it does is display an empty box.

I've tried a few scripted methods for doing this that I found on searches but I can't seem to get it to work. The one that came closest I thought was this one: http://www.databasedev.co.uk/bound_image_report.html but the script always gave an error that it couldn't find the table field.

Anyone have an easy, direct way to do this?

Sincerely,

MaestroC

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Did you use an Image control and set its ControlSource property to the path field?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Yes, I think...

I clicked the image icon. Dragged a box. A window popped up asking for the image to attach to it. I picked one at random just to get rid of the box. Then I went in and put the StudentImage field in the ControlSource box. The same image stays on the screen for every record (the image that I chose when placing the image box).