Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    breakingme10 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Unhappy Summarize data by pay periods

OK so it is early on a monday morning, my brain is exhausted from my 2 year old and I can't think straight to even know what to search for to find my answer. I am new to Access, but I'm not a novice at computers I swear. I actually use Mac a lot really and work on Apple iOS application development so Windows development is relatively new to me. My company is rather broad in terms of what all we do. I manage the self storage buildings and the water disposal trucks fuel logs as well as the water tickets to sort by lease and bill company. What the owner is wanting is for me to take the fuel cards which the driver writes their NAME, DATE, TIME, UNIT# (which is the truck #), GALLONS, ODOMETER MILES, and FUEL TYPE (dyed or clear). and sort them by the pay period. which is monday through sunday bi weekly ( ex. 12/16/13-12/29/13 and 12/30/13-1/12/14). He wants two reports one on the Driver and one on the Unit. I can't figure out how to get the report sorted to make it work for me. I've attached my database. Please someone help me figure this out.VehicleFuelLogs.zipVehicleFuelLogs.zip
    Last edited by June7; 01-06-2014 at 10:35 AM. Reason: change thread title

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Nothing in the database defines the pay periods. Your pay periods are every 2 weeks? I see you are attempting to calculate 2-week periods and group on that. Do those calcs coincide with your pay periods? What's wrong with the results?

Options:

1. a field in fuel cards table for pay period number

2. a table of pay periods with fields PPNum, StartDate (EndDate is optional because it can be calculated)
    A query can pull the pay period number for each delivery date in the fuel cards table

Date is a reserved word. Should not use reserved words as field names.

Why are dyed fuel cards in a separate table?