Solar.Paul is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Building a Web App?

Hi

I'm totally new to Access (no hands on system development background and I am still waiting for my copy of MS Access for Dummies to arrive). But I'm retired from a lifelong career in IT (business process, design and project management), am prepared to commit to putting in a good deal of effort to learn and hope/expect that I will have a reasonable aptitude.

I am actively involved in my sailing club and have been setting handicaps for their Sunday pursuit races. Although there are a number of off-the-self systems around none of them provide the level of functionality I would like to have available for this type of racing. I've been using Excel in which I have had a good deal of experience but its complexities and limitations lead to problems when I go away. Many members don't have appropriate skills and there is a risk that those that do will unwittingly corrupt data, make mistakes etc.

I have Windows 8.1 and MS Office 365 Home Premium and I am concerned that developing a system for stand alone use in Access will not make it easier to manage races and set handicaps when I am away:
    * Few or no members will have a computer with Windows 8
    * A stand alone system won't be accessible

My first questions relate to developing a system in Access for use by club members over the web. Upon review I saw on a web site that:
    * I will need to use SharePoint and that the Office 365 Home Premium doesn't provide this
    * Not all Access functionality is available over the web

Given my as yet undeveloped Access skills I am coming to you experienced folk for assistance:
    * Do I need to upgrade / subscribe so that I can use SharePoint and is it expensive?
    * Will I be able develop a reasonable system without full functionality? I should state here that it has been my intention to develop general database skills rather than becoming a fully fledged programmer