Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RootMason is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Viewing Attachments in Access Database

Hi All!

I am a Linux/Network Admin recently tasked with figuring out why our business' Access database loads so slow over the network. They have a Sharepoint server which is currently not being used, so I thought I would see if I could convert their old database (mdb) into a web-access database and publish it, in an attempt to see if this test will decrease load time. I have saved the mdb database into accdb format, and now I'm trying to go through all the errors involved in importing this into a blank web-access database.

Being new to Access, I am at a loss looking at some of these errors. The specific one to ask about today is ACCWEB 107022, Property value should to be empty or set to 'auto' to be compatible with the Web. On visiting Microsoft's Web-Compatibility Check page, I see that this is a fairly accurate description of the problem.

Would any of you folks be so kind as to either explain or provide a link that will help me to resolve this issue? I am also stumped as to why, when I open the subdatasheets, I see the same entry listed again. There are about 7 layers down for each entry that all show the same data. I would be willing to provide screenshots, or whatever you might require, to those kind enough to help out. Let me know what you need to see.

Thanks much!

Steve Clark

June7 is online now VIP
    Is this slow down something new?

Title of thread referenced attachments. Does this db have attachment type fields with embedded objects? Attachments can bloat a db and could possibly slow it down.

Access has a 2GB size limit and attachments can chew it up.

Sorry, I've never used Sharepoint.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003