Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    lithium is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Showing select information

Okay I'm working on a small issues database and need a few pointers since I'm new to access (but not programming and database). I only created one table where all info is store (people request something to be fixed and when its fixed, the department will change status to resolved). What is the best method to display the items from the database marked as "active"? What window would you use and how would you query for it thru access?

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    I use yes/no fields in my tables to distinguish the status of a given row. I make it a habit to assign the default value of either 0 or -1 to the field at the table level. I do this to avoid issues of Null fields when I want to check on the status. By assigning a default value to the field, I am assured the field will be either zero or negative one, where -1 is Yes aka True

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Build a form as GUI for data entry/edit and a report to output filtered records.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

I got it to work and load into a listbox (works great for what I need). My other issue is that I need to figure out to refresh the listbox once an addition as occurred. The big issue is that I created a new form for the user to add an entry and when I exit the form I don't know what code to use in order to refresh the listbox which is on my main form?