argsemapp is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Help creating queries from combobox input

Access newbie here. I have a form with two tables for Record Sources [tbl_Composition] & [tbl_ProductRelationships], and a combobox (cmb_SelProdName) whose Row Source is a ProductName field from [tbl_ProductRelationships].

When a user selects a choice from the combobox I'd like to query [tbl_Composition] for the ProductName (they should match) and get the entire row for that product which contains information I need to feed to a report. Here's my vba for the AfterUpdate on the combobox:

Code:
    Private Sub cmb_SelProdName_AfterUpdate()

Dim db As Database
    Dim rec As DAO.Recordset
    Dim RecQry As String

Set db = CurrentDb
    RecQry = "SELECT * FROM [tbl_composition] WHERE [tbl_composition].ALLOY_DESC = " & Me.cmb_SelProdName

Set rec = db.OpenRecordset(RecQry)

End Sub
    This is giving me a Variable Not Defined error when I make a selection on my combobox, and I'm a bit stuck. I'm asking myself, what does "Set db=CurrentDb" do when the form has two dependencies? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Is tbl_composition in the current DB or is it somewhere else?

Maybe the value of the combobox is not the correct type. Are there multiple columns in the combo? Are you trying to match a PK like a long integer or a text data type with your WHERE clause?

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    If "Me.cmb_SelProdName" holds a text value rather than a number, you may need:

RecQry = "SELECT * FROM [tbl_composition] WHERE [tbl_composition].ALLOY_DESC = '" & Me.cmb_SelProdName & "'"

What are you going to do with the recordset "rec".
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick