buick1910 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

How to create an Iif field in Access 2013

I have an Access 2013 database file with many fields. One of them, I'll call it Field 3, is a box which I would like to either leave blank or put a check mark in it. I would like to be able to create an Iif field for Field 3 where a check mark is automatically inserted in Field 3 IF Field 1 - Field 2 <or= 0, otherwise I'd like Field 3 to remain empty. How do I do this?

I'm very new to Access so please try and make your explanation clear for a newbie. Thanks

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    The simple answer is

Me.chkAnswer = IIf((Me.txtTwo.Value - Me.txtOne.Value <= 0), -1, 0)

Here you would have a form. On the form you would have an unbound CheckBox named "chkAnswer". You would also have two other controls that are bound to a field. One, named txtTwo and the other named txtOne.

This example will work fine as long as there is a value in both txtOne and txtTwo. You just need to find a good place/event to place the code.

ItsMe
    Thank you for your very prompt reply but unfortunately I'm still at a loss. When I said that I was a newbie I wasn't kidding. I have been sent the Access file and am comfortable with inputting data and looking at the various forms, queries, etc. but I have never created a "form" nor do I have any idea as to where I would find a "good place/event to place the code". Thanks for trying to help - I really do appreciate it.

Windows XP Access 2003
    No problem. The fact of the matter is I can not offer more code or direction without first understanding more about your situation.

Basically, the code there will do the math and change a check box on a form to either be checked as "Yes" or checked as "No". Like you mentioned, you do not know where to put the code. Now we have to determine a good place.

What are the default values in your Field 1 and Field 2?