stildawn is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Ways to display a "Live" job list

Hi All

I am new to Access, this post sort of relates to my other one here: Mod Edit: deleted duplicated thread.

Basically I have a massive list of "jobs" that are assigned to different teams at different stages of the "job". I have imported this from Excel into Access and everything looks to be set up and working well. I just have two questions at the moment:

1. Access refresh interval is 60 seconds, yet in my query for a specific team (so that it shows only the "jobs" assigned to that team), if I change the team in the main table, it never updates on the query unless I run the query again? Is there any way to make "Live" queries?

2. I plan to make a bunch of Queries for each team, displaying their "jobs" assigned to them from the main table. These queries will be displayed on big screens that are around the building. Is there a better way to display a "Live" list of jobs, better than just maximising access on the queries table?

Thanks

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    I tested with a form and query both open and referencing the same table source. I did edit in the record on form and saved the record. The edit immediately showed on the open query. So I do not understand your issue.

You will have copies of this db on multiple computers to display different 'jobs' lists?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thanks for the interest June7

No I plan to have the DB on the network drive, with (at the moment) two computers running full access displaying two "Live" queries on big screens.