ajzpop is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Temporary Tables

Hi all, newbie here...

In fact, im new to access also. Havent done a whole lot with it, but i have done a few things.

Anyway, i have been tasked at work to fix a database here at work that doesnt work right. I lobbied to fix it so I want to improve it as well. It is a database that keps track of "widgets". Where they are located, what pocketbook they are paid for, what kind of widget it is, etc. People input via a form all of the required info and hit submit and it is entered into the database. Pretty simple i would think..Some how, some of the info (not all of it) gets duplicated. sometimes once, sometimes 10 times. There is no pattern to it.

I'm gonna start it from scratch. Soooo, my first question is:

based on discusions with the previous builder of the database, he has used temporary tables. why would he have done that?

I plan on pulling info from other databases, would that require a temp table?

pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    He didn't tell you? In general, I don't use them. I would in cases where I was importing data and it needed to be "massaged" before being put in the actual table. I've also used one where the users wanted to enter several records and review them in total before committing them.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

ajzpop is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Even if he did tell me, I dont know if i would listen. He almost seems like he really doesnt understand it himself. Maybe he was using it as a way of reviewing before submitting?? Would it be wise to use one for reviewing the data in a form after it has been submitted? I am leaning towards not using one unless I have to. Not everyone is able to modify data.

pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007