Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    danyd is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    23

    Combo box - inactive value should disappear from combo box but not from form


    I have a form with a combo box that displays active firms. When a firm is marked inactive, it should disappear from the combo box, but not from the record in the form. I checked the table that stores this data and the inactive firm is in the record, but it just doesn't show on the form.

    Below is the code for the combo box.
    Code:
    SELECT dbo_IA_FIRM.IA_FIRM_ID, dbo_IA_FIRM.IA_FIRM_NAME
    FROM dbo_IA_FIRM
    WHERE (((dbo_IA_FIRM.INACTIVE)=False))
    ORDER BY dbo_IA_FIRM.IA_FIRM_NAME;
    Thank you for your help.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    This is a bound combobox used to select firm in a record?

    In which case it should have nothing to do with display of records.

    I have no idea what is causing the record display issue. Would have to review db. If you want to provide, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    danyd is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    23
    The form that the combobox is in is called 'IA Estimate Form' and the name of the combobox is 'Firm'. The row source for the combobox is the code that was mentioned earlier (pulling records from the dbo_IA_FIRM table, and the Control Source is IA_FIRM_ID from the dbo_IA_ESTIMATE table.
    I'd like to attach my database for you to look at, but can't seem to find the advanced post editor window. Could you tell me where to find it please. Thank you very much for your help.

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Click the Go Advanced button below the Quick Reply post window, next to the Post Quick Reply button.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    danyd is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    23
    haha... knew it had to be right in front of me... thanks. Now lets see if it shows up.

    i did read about a work-around of displaying a textbox over top of the combobox, leaving just enough room at the end to still select the dropdown arrow, and this does work. but maybe i'm missing something else.

    i do wonder if the Limit To List property should be set to No, but can't figure out how to do that and still display the firm name rather than the ID.

    thanks for your help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    I thought the issue was that the record does not display on form. Data not showing in combobox is to be expected when the combobox is a lookup with alias. You are saving an ID but displaying descriptor. When the combobox is filtered to exclude items the descriptor is not available for display. A nasty catch-22 and there is no really nice way to handle. The locked textbox on top of a combobox (sized to show only the drop arrow, as you noted) is about the only way to go.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    danyd is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    23
    ok... will do the textbox. Thank you so much for your help.

  8. #8
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Also, that requires including the 'lookup' table in the form RecordSource (join type 'Show all records from {your primary data table} ...') or DLookup expression in textbox.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. want combo box content disappear after selection
    By MissVinegar in forum Forms
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-15-2013, 10:40 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 10:29 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-12-2012, 02:58 AM
  4. Reports list disappear in combo box.
    By cap.zadi in forum Forms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2012, 09:26 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2011, 10:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums