Lynn Cohen is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Qry to return 1st instance of item in a list, vs. any instances beyond 1st instance

I'm working in Access 2010; not a total novice, but not an experienced programmer either.

I have a list of professors, each of whom has a list of course numbers associated with him/her. Here is a part of the list, the courses associated with Prof A and Prof B:
    Prof A BIO 101-01
    Prof A BIO 101-02
    Prof A BIO 111-03
    Prof A CHM 090-01
    Prof A CHM 095-06
    Prof A CHM 095-08
    Prof A CHM 101-05
    Prof B ELT 105-01
    Prof B ELT 105-02
    Prof B ELT 123-01
    Prof B ELT 225-02

The part before the hyphen is the “course number” field and the part after the hyphen is the “section number” field. Both fields are formatted as text fields and that can’t change.

My whole list has 125+ professors and 500+ courses.

For my whole list I need to write a query that returns a list of the first instance of each combination of “course number” plus “section number” for each professor. For each professor, the first instance is the lowest “section number” for any “course number.” In this example, that would be
    Prof A BIO 101-01
    Prof A BIO 111-03
    Prof A CHM 090-01
    Prof A CHM 095-06
    Prof A CHM 101-05
    Prof B ELT 105-01
    Prof B ELT 123-01
    Prof B ELT 225-02

I also need a separate query that returns any instance of a combination of “course number” plus “section number” beyond the first instance. For each professor, beyond the first instance is anything other than the lowest “section number” for any “course number.” In this case that would be
    Prof A BIO 101-02
    Prof A CHM 095-08
    Prof B ELT 105-02

Can someone assist with the query verbiage I would need for these two lists?

Thanks very much.

Lynn

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Using TOP N parameter should be able to accomplish.