Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mark.s is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Filtering a Listbox Using a Textbox - Code Problem?

I'm still learning access, but I'm just trying to get a basic search/filter going where the text entered into a textbox will filter the values in a listbox. The code looks like this:

Code:
    Private Sub TextBox_Change()

Dim strSQL As String

strSQL = "SELECT ItemCode FROM TestTable WHERE ItemCode Like "
    strSQL = strSQL & "'" & Me.TextBox.Text & "*'"
    strSQL = strSQL & " ORDER BY ItemCode;"
    Me.ListBox.RowSource = strSQL

End Sub
    I'm not getting any errors or anything, but it's just not working, I can type into the textbox and nothing happens. I've attached the Access file too, in case that helps.
    Attached Files Attached Files

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003
    I use the line return in different areas than your example. I keep staring at it and I can't seem to get it to work.
    I can offer you this example working example of mine.

Code:
    Me.cmbPO.RowSource = "SELECT [qryShipmentCount].[CustID], [qryShipmentCount].[PO], [qryShipmentCount].[Unit_Count] " _
                         & "FROM [qryShipmentCount] " _
                         & "WHERE [PO] LIKE '" & Me.txtRowsource & "*'" _
                         & "ORDER BY [PO];"
    Your fields would probably look like

Code:
    Me.ListBox.RowSource = "SELECT ItemCode " _
                                      & "FROM TestTable " _
                                      & "WHERE [ItemCode] LIKE '" & Me.TextBox.Text & "*'" _
                                      & "ORDER BY [ItemCode];"

mark.s is offline Novice
    I tried changing it to your format, I notice now that I'm getting a black highlight in the listbox when values should be showing up and it disappears when there should be nothing there.