jamarogers is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Unhappy Do Loop with 2 different recordsets

Hi All and thanks for this forum. I am an Old Newbie, trying to keep out the cobwebs in retirement. Been about 10 years since I dabbled into VBA...here's my problem. I'm writing a runtime app for my neighbor's small business and all is progressing relatively well, but slow. I'm stuck on something I've never done before. I wish to update InventoryTbl when I receive new purchases (POItemsTbl). I have a POItemsForm bound to POItemsTbl, which has a button to "Receive all Items". I wish this button to execute code to update Quantity in InventoryTbl. This would be the existing InventoryQuantity + POItemsQty. Logic would be similar to the following, but I have no idea how to express programmatically:

Do
    Look at each record in POItemsTbl, where "[POID] = Forms![POs]![POItems]![POID]" (Many records will exist here)
    On found record1, Remember value for "POItems.Qty" as PQ
    Now look for related record in InventoryTbl, where "InventoryTbl.Name = Forms![POs]![POItems]![POItName]" (Only 1 record exists here)
    On found OnlyRecord, Remember value for "InventoryTbl.Qty as IQ
    InventoryTbl.Qty = PQ + IQ
    Update
    .movenext
    Loop

Logically, it seems the above should work...can someone please advise me of how to write this code? I've spent days looking at Case/Select, If/Then, Do/Loop and the more I read the more confused I get. I've attached the relationship map should anyone need to review. Thanks for any help or advise.
    Jake
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 4WFarmsRelMap.jpg  

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Suggest you review this before proceeding http://allenbrowne.com/AppInventory.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful