Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    floyd is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    66

    First Database! VERY EXCITED! - Need Multi Select INPUT form help!

    I have created a database with One to Many relationships. (Picture Enclosed)
    I have an input form which is linked to the "Item" database and is working flawlessly!
    I need it to allow me to ALSO input the information from the various MULTI SELECT list boxes.
    Get list from "AC" and input to "tblItemAudience" which is linked to the "Item ID" in the "Item" database.


    Get list from "DC" and input to "tblItemDelivery" which is linked to the "Item ID" in the "Item" database.
    Get list from "TC" and input to "tblItemTopic" which is linked to the "Item ID" in the "Item" database.

    I hope someone can offer a hand.

    Report1.pdf

  2. #2
    pradeep.sands is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    49
    Ofcourse it is possible. You add the fields in your form and then you have 2 things to do.
    In the form properties, there is a field called "Record source" where you can describe in SQL, your one-to-many relation database..
    Then in your form, where you added the new fields, click on the individual fields property and set the control souce corresponding to its respective table from the dropdown menu..
    I hope I didn't guess wrong what u r looking for..
    Good luck

  3. #3
    floyd is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by pradeep.sands View Post
    Ofcourse it is possible. You add the fields in your form and then you have 2 things to do.
    In the form properties, there is a field called "Record source" where you can describe in SQL, your one-to-many relation database..
    Then in your form, where you added the new fields, click on the individual fields property and set the control souce corresponding to its respective table from the dropdown menu..
    I hope I didn't guess wrong what u r looking for..
    Good luck
    Ok... NOW I am REALLY excited... and extremely confused.
    As I mentioned... I am a newbie (although not absolutely without ability).

    I am looking right now in the record source and I have a pull down (AC, DC, Record, Item, tblItemAudience, tblItemDelivery, tblItemTopic)
    I am also not a SQL coder. (I am FABULOUS at cutting and pasting OTHER's codes) but when it comes to writing... I am a complete IDIOT.

    When you say "Describe in SQL" that unfortunately makes no sense to me.

    Can you offer a bit more information to get me started?

  4. #4
    pradeep.sands is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    49
    I would suggest you to have a very quick tutorial on writing the SQL code..it's very necessary when u work further..
    I would suggest u the following links, from my personal learning:
    http://www.w3schools.com/sql/
    http://www.functionx.com/vbaccess/
    http://fontstuff.com/access/acctut15.htm

  5. #5
    floyd is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    66
    I created a querie with the linkages and copied the SQL statement that was created. (I saved this as "Linkages")

    Code:
    SELECT Item.InputID, tblAud.InputID, tbltype.InputID, tbltopic.InputID, tblAud.InputID, tbltype.InputID, tbltopic.InputID
    FROM ((Item INNER JOIN (datAud INNER JOIN tblAud ON datAud.aud = tblAud.Audience) ON Item.InputID = tblAud.InputID) INNER JOIN (datTopic INNER JOIN tbltopic ON datTopic.topic = tbltopic.Topic) ON Item.InputID = tbltopic.InputID) INNER JOIN (datType INNER JOIN tbltype ON datType.type = tbltype.Type) ON Item.InputID = tbltype.InputID
    ORDER BY tblAud.InputID DESC , tbltype.InputID DESC , tbltopic.InputID DESC;
    I then went to my FORM area and in "Record Source" selected "Linkages".

    Well... that didn't work.
    Nothing appears on the from when I select "Linkages" in the "Record Source" area.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	access.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	112.0 KB 
ID:	13497

  6. #6
    pradeep.sands is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    49
    Give your SQL statement directly in the "Record source".

  7. #7
    pradeep.sands is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    49
    And I see that in your SQL statement
    SELECT Item.InputID, tblAud.InputID, tbltype.InputID, tbltopic.InputID, tblAud.InputID, tbltype.InputID, tbltopic.InputID
    some of the fields are repeated

  8. #8
    floyd is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    66
    HOLY GOOD GOSH.... it worked!!!!

    THANK YOU a TON!!!

    Are there any good "Access for Dummies" types of books that can actually take me from beginner... to walking me through some of the concepts you all are talking about here on the forum?

    Thanks again pradeep.sands

  9. #9
    floyd is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by pradeep.sands View Post
    Then in your form, where you added the new fields, click on the individual fields property and set the control souce corresponding to its respective table from the dropdown menu..
    Good luck
    When I do the drop down menu in my multi-form... all I see are the areas specific to the "Items" database.
    Should I use the thing that looks like this... (...)

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2013, 08:05 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 07:31 AM
  3. Multi Select Box in Form
    By SJ85 in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2012, 01:25 PM
  4. Multiple Multi-select boxes on one form
    By bujaman in forum Forms
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-20-2012, 01:48 PM
  5. 2 multi select list boxes on one search form
    By woodey2002 in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 12:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums