Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    buckwheat is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    144

    Data Entry Form "Yes" and "No" . . . can I have both?

    My master form's source is a query. I have a cbo box and four fields from another query. I have a subform that returns data entered to a table for report purposes. The subform needs to be set as data entry so history is not visible and cannot be changed and only "new" data is permitted.



    My problem . . . if I select Data Entry for the main form . . . no other fields populate in the four fields I have to confirm employee details, if I select No for data entry, then previous data is visible on the subform. . . Is there any way to have both options for data entry . . . meaning "No" on the data entry and "Yes" on the subform?

    The other issue I am having is when opening the form . . . . there is "0," when selecting a name, nothing appears in the cbo after the selection . . even the primary key.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    You should be able to set the Form that is displayed in the SubFormControl to DataEntry without affecting the MasterForm.

  3. #3
    buckwheat is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    144
    hmmm . . . makes sense to me too, but when I set the sub to "Yes" data entry and the master form to "No," the "yes" seems to be ignored. Do you have any suggestion as to why I would be getting a "0" in the cbo box after making a selection instead of the primary key (emp #)?

  4. #4
    buckwheat is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    144
    I think I've solved the "0" issue. As far as the data entry . . . I'll just create two separate forms . . . can't spend too much time resolving the problem. Thanks for your help.

  5. #5
    buckwheat is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    144
    Nuts! . . . it didn't work. Here is my code for the "0" in the cbo issue. How can I modify so the emp# appears in the dropdown after making a selection? Many thanks.

    Private Sub cboEmployee_AfterUpdate()
    ' Find the record that matches the control.
    Dim rs As Object
    Set rs = Me.Recordset.Clone
    rs.FindFirst "[Emp#] = '" & Str(Nz(Me![cboEmployee], 0))
    If Not rs.EOF Then Me.Bookmark = rs.Bookmark

    Me.Compensation_Worksheet.Visible = True
    End Sub

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    A cbo displays the Bound column of the cbo?

  7. #7
    buckwheat is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    144
    if you're asking if the cbo is bound, yes to column 1 = Emp# (primary key)

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    To what do you have the Column Widths and the Column Count set?

  9. #9
    buckwheat is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    144
    column count = 3 (emp#, last name, first name), width = .5, 1,1

  10. #10
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    What actually appears in the dropdown after making a selection?

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-05-2013, 10:57 PM
  2. Export "Query or Report" to a "Delimited Text File"
    By hawzmolly in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-31-2012, 08:00 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 08:32 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 02:32 PM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-29-2012, 07:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums