noaccessguru is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

After Update event help

Hi All,

Hoping someone can help me out! (I’m using Access 2010)

I have a Form where a user will enter information, and I want the ‘Status’ field to update based on the selection of ‘Type’ (which is a Combo Box.)

So if a user selects the Type ‘Permit’ I want the Status field to automatically update to ‘Open’.
    If they select the Type ‘Concession’ I want the Status field to automatically update to ‘Closed’
    If they select the Type ‘Trial’ I want the Status field to automatically update to ‘Closed’

How do I write this in VBA as an ‘After Update’ event??

I seem to be getting stuck

Also, one additional thing, can I have the ‘Status’ automatically update to ‘Expired’ if the ‘Expiry Date’ field has passed? How would I write this?

(Thanking you in advance.....as I am not very good at VBA yet!)

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Why you do even need the Status field? If Permit always means Open and Concession/Trial always mean closed, an expression in query or textbox will serve:

IIf([Type]="Permit", "Open", "Closed")
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thanks JUne7, but please excuse my ignorance....again Im not a master with Access!

So I don't need to display that field at all on the data entry page you mean? then in which field do I put that code? (I hope I am making sens)

Eventually, the user will come in and 'Edit' that record and change the 'Open' ones to Closed etc when they are ready.

June7 is offline VIP