Lynn Cohen is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

COUNT function help needed

I am working on schedule data at a college using an Access 2010 database. I'm somewhat new to Access 2010, but have used Access 2003 for several years.

I have a table that holds records for each course that has run in a year. A course can be run several times in a year, and so most courses have more than one section number. For example, there may be ACC 101-01, ACC 101-02, and ACC 102-03, where ACC 101 and ACC 102 are course numbers and 01, 02, 03 are section numbers.

I want to count, by course number, the numbers of sections that actually ran, for a year. The results I want would look like:

ACC 101 2
    ACC 102 1

I created Query 1, which returns each course with all its section numbers for the year. I deselected sections that were cancelled. Example: ACC 101-04 was cancelled, and so was deselected.

I copied Query 1 to create Query 2. In Query 2 I applied the COUNT function to the section numbers column. The numbers I am getting (as confirmed by a manual count) indicate the sections I deselected in Query 1 are no longer deselected. Example: I am getting a total of 3 for ACC 101.

Would appreciate any pointers. Thanks!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    How did you 'deselect' record? What is the filter criteria? Is there a 'Cancelled' field?

The course/section value is all in one field?

Show the attempted query SQL statement. Something like:

SELECT Left([Course],7) AS CourseID, Count(Right([Course],2)) AS Section WHERE Cancelled = False GROUP BY Left([Course,7);
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

>>How did you 'deselect' record? What is the filter criteria? Is there a 'Cancelled' field?