AlexisBV is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Question Creating a survey

Hello all,

I'm a newbie at Access, so so please bear with me if there's something obvious I'm missing. I'm using Access 2010 on WinXP.

I'd like to send out a survey to students regarding a set of courses they've taken. For each course, I have a few questions that are to be answered on a scale of 1 to 5, and one or two questions that are free-text. The questions are always the same for all courses.

How do I go about setting up this email survay? I've tried a few different things but it's not really working out. Here's what I have:

A table ("Courses") with fields for course ID, and course name.
    A table ("Trainees") with fields for Student ID, a student name, and email address
    A table ("Survey") with fields for record ID, course name (lookup to Courses), one field for each question, and the student's email address (lookup from Trainees).

The way I though this should work is that the Survey table would have one entry per student per course. So if there are 30 courses and 20 students, I expect the table to end up with 30x20=600 records.

What I'd like Access to do is to create the email with the questions for each of the 30 courses to each student.

However, if I start from an empty Survey table, the "create email" tool only creates one set of questions (instead of 30, one for each course), and does not automatically fill out the course name or even the person's email. So I'm guessing I need to prefill the Survey table with all the possible combinations of courses and students (600 records), then have each student update (instead of add) each of their survey records (and only theirs). Is that correct? What's the best way to do that (not by hand I hope)?

If so, how do I get Access to email each student only the questions under his/her name, instead of all 600 records?

Also, how to create an email with the actual course name, instead of the lookup number?