Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Just_Some_Guy is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Post Creating Hierarchy

Hello everyone, I'm quite new to access, been teaching myself for a little over a month now. I haven't gotten to any VBA yet unfortunately and I think that's what my task at hand will involve. I was assigned to make a program in access that has a hierarchy so a user can go in and select a few options and generate an excel sheet with the info they need. Sounds simple right? If anyone could give me insight on how to go about this, PLEASE let me know. I've attempted but I keep running into hurdles that could just be bad ideas on my part or my lack of access knowledge.

This is the IDEAL flow of the program:

There are 4 levels (tentatively), level 1 being the highest. The user should be able to select what level they want to start at and see all options available at that level. So if the user starts at level 1, then one option from level 1 determines multiple level 2 options. Pick the options you want from level 2 and that will determine multiple level 3 options. Pick the options you want from the level 3 options and that will determine multiple level 4 options, and then all those options selected in level 4 will be output to excel. There should be a "Select/Deselect All" button somewhere. The user should be able to add data via a form too. Hopefully this can be done with some help.

Any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED. Thank you

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    can you give a more applied example of your data?

Is it something like, say an employee roster, you want to be able to pick a specific person, then, for instance be able to look at their time off for the last month, that sort of thing?

From your description it sounds like all you'd have to do is have your criteria in a query set up correctly to pull the information you want then simply export the query but without something a bit more graphic that's just a guess.