abusaif is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 64bit

Tools Rental DB Help

Hi to all!

I am working on a DB for rental Items. I have a tblMasterItem, tblIssuedItem + tblIssueDetails, tblReceivedItem + tblReceiveDetails. Everything is working fine, but I am stucked at a point that, Suppose I have issued 10 ladders on 1st of month to customer1 and again I issued 5 ladders on 10th of month to the same customer, he returned me back 4 ladders on 20th of Month. (Seriously I don't know whether I explained properly or not).
    Now at the end of the month I want to bill him for the rent of ladders. first I want query to calculate upto end of the month for ladders which are still on rent. Secondly I want to calculate for the ladders which were Issued and returned back.

Can anyone help?

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Are your rentals calculated by the day, the week, or the month? I'm assuming by the day going by your description but if you have weekly/monthly rates as well that would change how to approach this question.

Dal Jeanis is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Overall Process for Building that Query

I'm going to make the following simplifying assumptions.

(1) the number of ladders billable for a day is the net number that are "issued" at the end of the day.

(2) "Net number issued" is the number of ladders issued to a client prior to and including that date, minus the number of ladders received from that client prior to and including that date.

(3) Negative "net number issued" is an obvious mistake and should not result in a negative billing day.

(4) ladders are indistinguishable from each other, and if two different groups of ladders are issued and some number of ladders are returned, no attempt need be made to determine which ladders were returned.