jetmcquack is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Question complex (?) query for a huge table

Hello everybody,

i'm new to the forum, so sorry if i'm missing some rules, or access notion. This is my first attempt to create a big application.

i have this database with a complex table (STORICO_PDV) of over 90 fields and more than 140.000 records growing.
    The index i have built are:

PERIODORIF (Date/time) in english is like "Date"
    AREA (Text) a value between 12 different possibilities
    PrimaryKey (Counter) a sort of transaction id

and others, not used in this query

i need to run a query to Sum 2 fields of this table grouping by a an other field called MCC

the records to sum are selected via a form which asks for:

AREA and PERIODORIF and other minor values.

the SQL code access generate is the following:
    Code:
    SELECT STORICO_PDV.MCC, mcc_desc.DESC_MCC, Sum(STORICO_PDV.TOT_VOLUMI_TRANSATI) AS SommaDiTOT_VOLUMI_TRANSATI, Sum(STORICO_PDV.TOT_REDDITIVITA) AS TOT_REDDITIVITA

FROM mcc_desc INNER JOIN STORICO_PDV ON mcc_desc.MCC = STORICO_PDV.MCC

WHERE 

((([AREA]=[Forms]![Vista X Aree]![AREA] Or [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![AREA] Is Null)=True) 

AND

(([PERIODORIF] Between [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![MeseInizio] And [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![MeseFine] Or [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![MeseInizio] Is Null Or [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![MeseFine] Is Null)=True) 

AND

((IIf([Forms]![Vista X Aree]![Segno] Is Null Or [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![Rating] Is Null,True,IIf([RATING] Is Null,Null,Eval([RATING] & [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![Segno] & [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![Rating]))))=True) 

AND 

(([FIS_VIR]=[Forms]![Vista X Aree]![FISVIR] Or [Forms]![Vista X Aree]![FISVIR] Is Null)=True))

GROUP BY STORICO_PDV.MCC, mcc_desc.DESC_MCC;

Now my problem is that the query run EXTREMLY slow the first time i run it and then a bit faster the next times, until the database is exited and cleaned. Is there a way to optimize it?

thanks for your precious help!

Cisco

Cisco -