Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    bubba61 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Multi-field Search

I'm a newbie to Access. So please excuse my
    ignorance. I have created a database for storing automotive wiring pigtails. I am trying to perform a search on the database using a basic query. I created a
    simple search form with 3 combo boxes that are tied to simple tables that limit choices for the end user. The
    query is using 2 tables, "Pigtail" table and a "Service Part Description" table.
    I am using 2 fields from the "Pigtail" table. The first field is "Cavity" which
    houses the number of cavities of the pigtail and the other field "Wire Type"

houses the type of wire terminal (gold, silver, tin etc). I am using the field
    "Service Part Description" from the "Service Part Description" table.
    This is what I am wanting to accomplish. I want the ability to search by any combination
    of these 3 fields. If any field is left empty, all information in that field
    will be considered for the search. For example, If I want to perform a search
    for a 4 cavity pigtail for an Oxygen Sensor, regardless of the wire type, I would choose '4' in the "Cavity"
    field and choose "Oxygen Sensor " in the "Service Part Description" field. I
    would leave the "Wire Type" field blank to match all wire types that match the
    other 2 field criteria. I have tried to use this simple criteria formula (Like
    "*" & [Forms]![Part Description Search]![Cavity] & "*") in the query box
    on each of the 3 fields (Changing the field name on each query) that I found on
    internet. However it is not working. Any
    ideas?

ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    See this: (one method)
    http://access.mvps.org/access/queries/qry0001.htm

Hint: try and not use spaces in object names. It will cause you headaches......