kram941 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Inventory Database

Hi everyone,
    I am fairly new to Microsoft Access so I have done some of the tutorials to try and learn how to use it. What I am looking for is someone to either help me out with the parts I can not figure out myself or point me towards a resource that will help me solve my problems.
    I am currently in charge of creating a database to track our Tool Inventory and usage. What I need it to do is be able to inventory all the tools we have in house and make a record of who checks out what tool and when.

Here is my plan for the database:
    Three tables:
    1. Employees
    2. Inventory

3. Transactions

I am going to have trouble with the form that will be used to check tools in and out. This is how I would like the form to look/work:
    Two texts fields, one for the Employee ID Number, and another for Tool ID Number. Both of these are being inputed with a barcode scanner system that we currently use. (to prevent any user input error) Below that is a "Check Out" button. When this is clicked I would like a new record to be created in my transactions table that has the Transaction ID, Employee ID, Tool ID, check out date, and a empty check in date. Also it would need to minus 1 from the quantity on my inventory table for that tool. I don't have any idea how to go about making this check out button work in this way. Oh an I would like it to also verify that the Employee ID number and Tool ID number are both existing records in their respective tables.