nhylan is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

New to Access

Hi All,

Just to give you a little background, I work in finance and I have absolutely zero programming or tech background but I'm trying to teach myself how to use access.

What I've done so far on this project is built a database that holds all our trade data from our client in the clients original format. I've created another linked excel table that is linked to a daily trade activity report from the client. A query then checks the new activity based on a unique ID against the past activity and shows only activity we haven't seen before and then I made another query to add that new activity to the original master file.

What I would like to be able to do is sort of "translate" that data our client is sending us into a format we can use in our software. Typically when I do this in excel it involves a couple vlookup ref. tables which show our specific ID's and then I end up changing the date formatting via a "text" formula. Is there a way to do this in access? Please let me know if I can better explain something, as I said I have zero background in this stuff but I want to learn!
    Thanks,
    Nate

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Anything you can do in Excel you can do in Access, particularly if you're talking about VB.

If you can give an example of your starting data, what the conversion tables look like and what you want your final product to look like we can give you direction.

It may be as simple as creating tables that cross reference your internal codes with the external codes.

nhylan is offline Novice
    Quote Originally Posted by rpeare View Post
    Anything you can do in Excel you can do in Access, particularly if you're talking about VB.

If you can give an example of your starting data, what the conversion tables look like and what you want your final product to look like we can give you direction.