mick3911 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2000

Multiple subforms to one main form

Hi all,

Newbie here in as much as this is the first time I havejoined a forum to get help.

I am OK 'ish with building basic DB's but I have come stuckwith one that I hope you help me with.

I am building a Stock Control DB for products. Each productconsists of various components, which I have managed to sort out (productdetails in main form (frmProducts) and components in the subform(sfmComponents) however, some components are used on more than one product andthis I haven't been able to sort out. How can I allocate a component tomultiple products? I do not have any experience with VBA (apart from how toaccess it from 'Properties', so if this the only solution could someone pleaseprovide me with the code.

Many thanks in advance.

Rod is offline Expert
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    I'm uncertain how your requirement relates to multiple subforms, but then what do I know.

To implement your requirement you need an extra table which for the sake of this post I shall call 'tblUsedOn.' This table links your product table with your component table. The content of this extra table will look something like this:

UsedOnID Autonumber (PK)
    ProductID Number (long) (FK)
    ComponentID Number (long) (FK)
    Quantity Number
    OtherData ...

Your subform is then based around this extra table.

Hi Rod,

Thanks for your reply.

Have tried what you suggested but to no avail.

I will sit down later today and explain in more detail what I am trying to do.

Quote Originally Posted by mick3911 View Post
    I will sit down later today and explain in more detail what I am trying to do.
    The idea behind the database is to adjust stocks levels forvarious components which are used on a products using one form thus not havingto go through the rigmarole of opening a form for each component.