smk081 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Question Translate the selections of a combobox to different values in the data table

I'm sure this is a basic question but I am pretty new to this and I tried searching for an answer on these forums already.

Basically I'm designing a form for people to input data about another person, I've designed it so that there is a combobox for "sex" with the dropdown options being: Male, Female and Unknown; what I want is a code of "M" for the record to appears under the variable "sex" in the table when the user selects Male, "F" when Female is selected and, last but not least,"U" to appears for the Unknown selection. I

have a bunch of other drop downs that will need to function like this - e.g. the are specific codes for different types of payment, Credit card = 99, debit card = 89, etc. Is this something easily acheived?

Thanks a lot!

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Add a field to the table that the combo box looks to for the values indicated. In that field type M, F and U. In the properties for the combo box, make the bound field that new particular field.

BTW: what difference does it make what is in the table? Tables should store data and not be viewed by users. If you require informtion from the table, then use your form or a query. You can join the table to the lookup table in a query to see the appropriate values if you need to publish this data.

This white paper on data base design is a good read and will help to understand this.

http://www.deeptraining.com/litwin/d...aseDesign.aspx

smk081 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Thanks for the response - and the link to that white paper, I have had limited experience in database design, and that was a while back, this should act as more than a "refresher".