Tabbed form for survey data entry

Please be patient with me. I'm relatively new to access and I have no coding knowledge. Excited to try to help me yet? I want to keep this as SIMPLE as possible.

We have a 17 page, 205 question survey. Some questions are yes/no, some on 1-5 or 1-7 scales, 5 open ended questions, and 1 check all that apply. The leads on this study want the form to mirror the paper version of the survey exactly, meaning I need to have 17 pages (Yes...really).

I have two tables: TblPtMain and TblPtEntry. Main houses the participant info (Participant ID, Name, DOB) and Entry will hold all the survey data entry. I have a main form which includes the fields from TblPtMain. On that form I created tabs for each page of the survey (I know this is excessive, but I don't have much of a choice here). My plan is to have each tab contain a subform and the user will just click each tab to continue with data entry of that record.

Right now, the entry works well on the main and Pg1 of the survey. When I click to Pg2, it keeps the ID field populated but it creates a new record for the for the fields on that page. How do I link these subforms to continue on the same record? Is there anything I can to do clean this up and make it easier to work with?

Thanks!

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Have you already looked at this link: http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/f...-93f53fb6.html

always404 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    There are a couple reasons why this might happen.

1) I'm thinking your subform might be set to data entry, this could set the subform to make a new record each time you open it.

To fix that you would need to go to your subform properties, go to the data tab, and change data entry to "No"

2) It also sounds like you may not have a relationship between the two tables/forms.