Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mikeone610 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Please Help: Combo Box Criteria Statement

I have a search form setup with a Combo Box which is populated with the unique values found in "TableA!ColumnA". My goal is to allow a user to select one of the values from the combo box and then run the query and only data entries which share the same value in "TableA!ColumnA" will be shown. If the combo box is not used it should show everything in that field. I should add that the values in question are all text and not numbers.

I am pretty new to Access and am not very familiar with VBA codes so just a warning that most of that stuff goes over my head. Because of this I was hoping to just reference the combo box as a control in the query's design view for the field I am trying to filter ("TableA!ColumnA").

Thus far I have tried to place "[Forms]![SearchForm]![ComboCity]" in the criteria for the field but when I run the query it comes up blank whether the combo box is being used or not.

Does anyone know what I need to put in the criteria to make this happen?

EDIT: If this was suppose to be in the Forms section of the forum please let me know, I figured this was the right place to post the question.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Use LIKE with wildcard in the query criteria parameter then need to requery the form. Review http://datapigtechnologies.com/flash...tomfilter.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

I just figured out most of it, I was missing a Control Source. So it works kinda. My new problem is, ugh this is tough to explain:

-I have two sheets, one that has names and no duplicates (Sheet1) and another with a name field and activities field and duplicates(Sheet2).