Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  1. #16
    abernut is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    39

    Nothing really confidential in it so I will attach it with this post.

    You will notice on the Mold table there are two other fields, Cycles_Since_Last_Main and Main_Req_At.

    Each time they use a mold it gets used for a certain number of Cycles. They eventually would like to see what molds are getting close to needing maintenance.

    Thanks,
    Mike
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #17
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    I would suggest these two changes:

    MoldLog



    1. Log_ID (PK- autonumber)
    2. Mold_No (FK to table Molds - Long)
    3. request_date
    4. Log_Date
    5. Time_In
    6. Time_Out
    7. Hours(calculated if you want).. not really needed (and shouldn't be stored in the table)
    8. do you need a requested by
    9. work done by?
    10. comments

  3. #18
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    They have an excel sheet of all of the molds they use
    I have already entered about 50% of the data into the Mold table
    Since the Molds are in Excel, you can import the data and not have to enter it.... I hope you are not hand entering Mold data



    So what I thought would be an easy task is snowballing into a giant poop sandwich.
    Welcome to database design and programming!!

    It goes easier it you use pen and paper to do the design before starting Access. Then when you have the design, start creating tables and entering a few records.
    I cut the paper up to be able to move the fields to different tables...
    I've also used white boards....

  4. #19
    abernut is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    39

    Paper Version

    Starting this on paper is what made me think it would be easy

    I tried attaching my pdf version but it is too big.

    But it looks just like this.


    MoldReq
    Work_Ord (Pri Key)
    Part_Name (From Mold table)
    Part_No (From Mold table)
    Mold_No (From Mold table)
    Machine_No (Drop Down list to display Press 1 through Press 8)
    Date
    Material Drop Down list to display PVC or Non-PVC)
    Notes
    Mold_Installed_By (Either Drop Down list to select the Employee or pulled from a Employee table)
    Mold_Pulled_By (Either Drop Down list to select the Employee or pulled from a Employee table)
    Cycles
    Check_By (Either Drop Down list to select the Employee or pulled from a Employee table)

    MoldLog
    Log_ID (Pri Key)
    Work_Ord (From MoldReq Table)
    Mold_No (From MoldReq Table)
    Part_Name (From MoldReq Table)
    Part_No (From MoldReq Table)
    Log_Date
    Date_In
    Time_In
    Time_Out
    Hours (Calculated field based on Time_Out - Time_In)
    Lube_Used (Drop down list: Donnelly Grease or STP/Donnelly)
    Notes
    Tips_Tricks
    Comp_By (Either Drop Down list to select the Employee or pulled from a Employee table)
    Date_Finished
    Work_Type (Drop Down list: Repair, New Work, Revision, Maintenance)
    Attachment (They may need to attach a jpeg)

    Molds
    Mold_No (Pri Key)
    Part_Name
    Part_No
    Cylce_Since_Main
    Main_req_At


    After building the table I thought "Wow this is easy" but then when I tried created the relationships and form entry, I realized why I stuck with Networking

  5. #20
    lzhao7573 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2

    use a bounded field

    Hi I did some changes on the End of Run form. When you pick a mold number from the drop down list, you can find the related part_name, you can then easily enter it. In order to get the relation between mold number and part number, you need set part number as a bounded filed. You need refresh part_name filed after update mold number. see attached files, hope it helps.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #21
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    MoldReq
    Work_Ord (Pri Key)
    Part_Name (From Mold table)
    Part_No (From Mold table)

    Mold_No (From Mold table)
    The two fields in red are not needed because the Mold_No (PF) is linked to the table MoldReq via the Mold_No (FK).



    MoldLog
    Log_ID (Pri Key)
    Work_Ord (From MoldReq Table)
    Mold_No (From Molds Table)
    Part_Name (From MoldReq Table)

    Don't store the Hours in the table - you can calculate it at any time.
    Part_No (From MoldReq Table)
    Fields in red ar not needed.
    Mold_No (in Blue) is from the Molds table, not MoldReq table

  7. #22
    abernut is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    39

    Relationships

    I removed the columns.

    Next I tried setting my relationships.

    Is this correct? (See attachment)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails MoldRelationships.jpg  

  8. #23
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    One Mold can have many MoldReqs
    One MoldReq (WO#) can have many MoldLogs

    Are these statements TRUE?

  9. #24
    abernut is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    39
    I will meet with them tomorrow and list all the one-to-one and one-to-manys

    Thanks,
    Mike

  10. #25
    abernut is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by ssanfu View Post
    One Mold can have many MoldReqs
    One MoldReq (WO#) can have many MoldLogs

    Are these statements TRUE?
    One Mold can have many MoldReqs TRUE
    One MoldReq (WO#) can have many MoldLogs FALSE (This is a one to one. Each time a Mold is ran they do maintenance on that mold (MoldLog)

  11. #26
    abernut is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    39
    I did make some progress on my forms today.
    Everything is pulling the way it is supposed to but I may need to start another topic for my next questions (Not sure on the forum rules)

    The Molds.Cycles should be a calculated field. Each time someone does a MoldReq there is a place to enter "Cycles Ran". Right now I just have it as a column in the Molds table. They use this to determine when a Mold is due for maintenance. In my Molds table I have a Main_Req_At field. ie... Mold 1077 requires maintenance after 10,000 cycles.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2012, 08:36 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-20-2012, 09:49 PM
  3. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 07:44 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 07:11 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 12:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums