Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    gatsby is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 64bit

Multiple Validation Rule

how to have a multiple validation rule either in tables or queries?

i have a combobox with several recordsource or sub modules that after you chose a sub module it will give a validation rule. each sub modules has its own validation rule. validation rules are just numbers in-between like :

"sub module A" should have >5 And <25 Then MsgBox ""Please enter a numeric value between 5 and 25"
    "sub module B" should have >25 And <55 Then MsgBox ""Please enter a numeric value between 25 and 55"
    "sub module C" should have >75 And <95 Then MsgBox ""Please enter a numeric value between 75 and 95"

and so on......

users should do a manual entry on "Local X" (field where validation rule should take effect)....

By the way, im new to Access and VBA but i created simple databases already. MS Access version is 2010.
    Thank You!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Did you try the ValidationRule property in the table or in control on form?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 64bit
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Did you try the ValidationRule property in the table or in control on form?

yup i tried and i failed. all i know is single validation only and NOT multiple. when it comes to multiple, im having problems.

June7 is offline VIP
    Why did it fail? I don't see anything wrong with the rule you show if the field is required to have a value. If you want to allow user to skip entering value in the field, try

Is Null Or (>=5 And <=25)
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit