tostgulen is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Question Moving between tables

Hi

I'm new to Access so please bear with me on this. I'm creating a database for my finance's business. Shes starting up in a couple of months and have acquired a long list of potential customers. My plan was to have two separate customers tables. One for potential customers and one for existing.

The list of potential customers have been imported in one table and I have made a form she can use to view the info and comment on them wile talking to them. If some of the P.C.'s wants to buy her product I would like to have a button on the form that moves this P.C. to the table of existing customers and at the same time deletes them form the P.C. table.

Is this possible? If it is, could someone please help me on the right track?

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    I think a better way of going about would be to have a single table, and just have a flag for existing/potential customer. Then there is no reason to move any data, just update the flag value.

Ok. I will see if I can make that work.

But I still wonder if there might be a possibility to move entities from one table to another. I can probably get VBA to do the job, but that requires a bit of research since I haven't used VBA.

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Oh, you can do it. But it seems to be totally unnecesary and isn't really good database design.
    Why you would want to do it that way? If we understand what the logic is, we may be able to make some suggestions.

Great.