smcdaniel is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

The Microsoft Access database engine cannot find a record in the table 'tblPermitee2'

Hi.

I am a beginner Access user and I have created a form including subforms and when I fill out the form I get the message The Microsoft Access database engine cannot find a record in the table 'lkpPermitee2' with key matching field(s) ''. I get the error when I try to enter data into one of the subforms on the form if I have not entered data into the text field for Permitee2.

My form is intended to be a Permitee Setup form. The form was based on a query and includes three subforms.

The table "lkpPermitee2" is a lookup table where a second permitee, if one exists for that project, is stored. A Permitee2 will not exist in all instances and the form needs to allow for a Permitee to be entered without a Permitee2.

I cannot attach my database because it exceeds the limit, so instead I will try to describe it:
    Lookup tables - lkpBasin (pk BasinID), lkpCombo (no pk), lkpMonitoringFrequency (pk MonitoringFrequencyID), lkpPermit (pk PermitID), lkpPermitee (pk PermiteeID), lkpPermitee2 (pk Permitee2ID), lkpProject (pk ProjectID), lkpReport (pk ReportID), lkpReportingFrequency (pk ReportingFrequencyID), lkpReportLocation (pk ReportLocationID).
    Tables - tblCompleteBasin (pk CompleteBasinID fk CompletePermiteeID), tblCompletePermitee (pk CompletePermiteeID fk MonitoringPlanID), tblCompleteReporting (pk CompleteReportingID fk CompletePermiteeID), tblMonitoringPlan (pk MonitoringPlanID), tblPermit (pk PermitID fk CompletePermiteeID).
    Queries - qryPermitee (tblCompletePermitee, lkpPermitee, lkpProject. pk CompletePermiteeID fk PermiteeID, ProjectID), qryPermitee2 (qryPermitee, lkpPermitee2. pk CompletePermiteeID fk Permitee2ID), qryCompletePermitee (tblMonitoringPlan, qryPermitee2. pk MonitoringPlanID fk MonitoringPlanID)