Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    lmjje is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit

New Record number (not AutoNumber) upon new record creation

I have been pouring through this, and other forums looking for the answer to this question. So far I have not been able to find it. I am not a beginner, nor am I an expert...I am part of that dangerous middle group that tries to do things just beyond their experience level, and goes bald in the process from pulling their hair out when it doesn't work.

I have a personnel tracking database that now needs two "AutoNumber" fields. The REAL AutoNumber is set at PersonID in the "Master" table I need a second field (UnitID) to auto generate a number when a new record is created. My thought was to use the AutoNumber in PersonID and then add 1 or 2 or 10... to it. I have tried everything that I can think of to get it to work...but so far no love. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Rod is offline Expert
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    There are a number of ways to do this. However let me first ask whether this is a multi-user application where more than one person may be using the db simultaneously.

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

lmjje is offline Novice
    RuralGuy, thank you for the rapid reply. Maybe I am entering this string in the wrong location. I am entering it in the Master table, in the UnitID field under the Default Value. When I do that I get "Unknown function 'Nz' in validation expression or default value on 'Master.UnitID'". This is what I have been getting everytime I have tried a Nz or DMax expression.

lmjje is offline Novice
    Rod, this (for now) is a single user application. In the next 6 months to a year it may become a multi-user environment.

Quote Originally Posted by lmjje View Post