ssturges is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit

Help with adding to a date type as default field

Hey guys, I'm really new to access and I'm not sure if what I am asking is even possible.

I have a table, and I want to add a date, to an integer to get a new date. In excel, I would just use Date(year(cell),Month(cell) + etc), I'm not sure what the syntax for Access is for this task.

I want one of my fields to be equal to Date of one field, plus number of months to add to that date to get a new Date.

I've been looking around, I see that this is normally done with queries. I am trying to to do with one of my table.

Thanks for the help.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    You can just add a number to a date value. The default unit is day so: Date() + 4 will add 4 days to current date. Use DateAdd function to specify calculation for other units.

Calculations can be done in table only in a Calculated datatype field and it appears that DateAdd function is not available. You could do: [your field name] + 60 to add 60 days to the date. Or DateSerial is available.

Can use DateAdd function in a query or textbox ControlSource on form or report.

Here is a reference for functions available in Access, see the DateTime category http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...959.aspx?CTT=3
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

So I tried: [my field name] + [another field name] and access keeps giving me the error "The database engine does not recognize either the field 'my field name' in a validation expression, or the default value in the table 'My table name'.

The only function that seems to work is the: Date() + (some constant).
    for example: I have a starting date, and I have a integer months, and I want to add them to get the end date.
    is this even possible with using the default value property?