Nick F is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007

Coding an "update" button

I have a form (based on Event_Partners table) that I type in First Name, Last Name, Organization, etc for partners sponsoring an event. I have a separate table that contains partner_contact_information (First Name, Last Name, phone, cell, fax, email, web, etc.). I want to have a button on my Events_Partners form named "Update Contact Info". When clicked, this button would search, based on first AND last name, for a record in the partner_contact_information table and pull up that record. If there is no record, a new record would be started. I made queries to combine first and last name in both tables. I am a VBA novice and need help writing the code for the button. Thank you.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    You want the button on Events_Partners form to open another form with the contact information?

Do you have a combobox on the Events_Partners form for selecting partner? Look into the NotInList event of the combobox. This event would open the ContactInfo form to new record if partner not found in the RowSource.

Then the button would only need to open contact edit form to an existing record using the value in combobox as criteria:
    DoCmd.OpenForm "ContactInfo", , ,"PartnerID=" & Me.cboPartner

This way the search criteria is a unique ID and even if there is more than one John Smith, only one record can be retrieved.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Thanks June. I hadn't thought about it that way. That leads to another question. Say you have a John Smith and you type in another John Smith, how do you get the NotInList event to fire?

June7 is online now VIP