Alexb128 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

How to count the 1st instance of X in a recordset

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Access, so bear with me.

I'm trying to create a query that will total the number of trainees (each identified by a unique StaffID #) and list each trainer (each identified by a unique ProviderID #) associated with training classes held during a range of dates. Each class is associated with a unique Date ID# and trainers and trainees are linked to a class by this same DateID #. The problem with this query is that because the DateID number is used as the variable which connects everything in this database, when I run a query that shows all of the trainees and trainers within a range of dates, I get the following result when there are multiple trainers associated with the same class:

Date ID# Class Staff ID# Provider ID#
    1 A 1 1
    1 A 2 1
    1 A 3 1
    1 A 1 2
    1 A 2 2
    1 A 3 2

Total Attendees: 6 (instead of 3)

What I want Access to do is select all of the classes that fall within a particular date range and for each Date ID#, count the first Staff ID# and first Trainer ID#. However, I have no idea how to write this query, though I suspect it involves querying the query that generates the results shown above.

Thanks so much for any help you can offer!
    -Alex

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    The sample data show the same staff (1, 2, 3) attending the same class (A) on the same date (1) with two different trainers. This class had two trainers partnered?

So what is the attendance count you want returned - 3? Don't include the trainers in the query. Do a query that groups by date and class and counts attendees then do another query that joins that aggregate query with trainers.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows XP Access 2007