yuvraj.date is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Autofilling controls on a form

Hi,
    I am creating a form to return specific rates for an origin to destination location match. I have a table for all Zip codes that have their corresponding location names. Another table has an origin and destination zip code and its specific rate. Then there is query which calculates the rate and a form based of that query. Now, I could manage to return rate using a command button on the form that pulls the rate info when i enter the origin and destination zip codes in two text boxes. The rate is displayed in a list box. what I want now is the location for that origin/destination zip code to be autofilled on the same form. How do I achieve this? I am relatively new to access programming and cannot perform complicated macros. Please help.

Thanks
    Last edited by RuralGuy; 09-10-2012 at 07:11 AM. Reason: Changed title.

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    I'm having a hard time following your exact scenario here; sorry!

Are you physically (i.e. thru the keyboard or copying and pasting it in) entering the origin and destination zip codes in the same Form where you want the the origin and destination locations to be filled in?

If so, and the ZipField is defined as a Text Datatype:

Code:
    Private Sub txtDestinationZIP_AfterUpdate()
     Me.DestinationLocation = DLookup("LocationField", "YourZipLocationTable", "[ZipField] = '" & Me.txtOriginZip & "'")
    End Sub

Private Sub txtOriginZIP_AfterUpdate()
     Me.OriginLocation = DLookup("LocationField", "YourZipLocationTable", "[ZipField] = '" & Me.txtOriginZip & "'")
    End Sub

If ZipField is defined as a Number Datatype

Code:
    Private Sub txtDestinationZIP_AfterUpdate()
     Me.DestinationLocation = DLookup("LocationField", "YourZipLocationTable", "[ZipField] = " & Me.txtOriginZip)
    End Sub